Third All India Conference of China Studies

December 20-21, 2010

Vivekananda Hall, Subarna Jayanti Bhavan, Jadavpur University KOLKATA

PROGRAMME

Day One: December 20, 2010

Registration: 9:30 a.m. -10:00 a.m. Inaugural Session: 10 a.m. -11:15 a.m.

Chair: Prof. P. N. Ghosh, Vice Chancellor, Jadavpur University

Welcome Remarks: Prof. Tridib Chakrabarti, Coordinator, H. P. Biswas Centre for India

China Cultural Studies, JU

Greetings: Prof. Nilanjana Gupta, Dean of Arts, JU Greetings: Prof. Sreemati Chakrabarti, Director, ICS

Introductory Remarks: Ambassador C. V. Ranganathan, Former Ambassador to China &

Emeritus Fellow, ICS

Special Address: Mr. Gautam Bambawale, Joint Secretary (East Asia), MEA, GOI

Keynote Address: Prof. Manoranjan Mohanty, Chairperson, ICS Presidential Remarks: Prof. P. N. Ghosh, Vice Chancellor, JU Vote of thanks: Prof. Sabaree Mitra, Conference Convenor, ICS

Tea: 11:15 a.m.-11:45 a.m.

Session One: Emerging Trends in China Studies: Politics & International Relations 11:45 a.m.-1:15 p.m.

Chair: Ambassador C. V. Ranganathan, Former Ambassador to China & Emeritus Fellow, ICS

Speakers: Prof. Rabindra Sen, Dr. Alka Acharya, Prof. Sumita Sen, Dr. Jabin Jacob, Prof. Chandrashekhara Rao, Dr. G. Venkat Raman

Lunch: 1:15 p.m.-2:00 p.m.

Session Two: Emerging Trends in China Studies: Society & Culture

2:00 p.m.-3:15 p.m.

Chair: Prof. Tan Chung

Speakers: Prof. Sreemati Chakrabarti, Mr. Kamal Dutta, Ms. Barnali Chanda, Dr. Avijit

Banerjee

Tea: 3:15 p.m.-3:30 p.m.

Session Three: Emerging Trends in China Studies: History, Philosophy & Culture

3:30 p.m.-5:00 p.m.

Chair: Prof. Hari Vasudevan

Speakers: Prof. H. P. Ray, Mr. Ravi Bhootalingam, Prof. Tan Chung, Prof. Arttatrana

Nayak

Tea: 5:00 a.m.-5:30 a.m.

Special Lecture: "Rabindranath Tagore and Crisis of Civilization"

5:30 p.m.-7:00 p.m.

Speaker: Mr. Samik Bandyopadhyay

Chair: Prof. Amiya Dev

Day Two: December 21, 2010

Tea: 10:00 a.m.-10:30 a.m.

Session Three: Research on Tagore and East Asia

10:30 a.m. -11:30 a.m. Chair: Prof. Amiya Dev

Speakers: Dr. Sandip Mishra, Prof. Uma Dasgupta, Dr. Wei Liming, Prof. Sabaree Mitra

Session Four: Rabindranath Tagore & East Asia

11:30 a.m. -1:00 p.m.

Chair: Prof. Radharaman Chakrabarty

Speakers: Prof. Brij Tankha, Dr. Rajasri Basu, Mr. Amitava Bhattacharya, Prof. Ipsita

Chanda

Lunch: 1:00 p.m.-2:00 p.m.

Concluding Session: Institutional Reports: Current Research & Future Plans

2:00 p.m.-4:00 p.m.

Chair: Prof. Manoranjan Mohany

Speakers: Representatives of Different Centres/Departments to speak on current teaching

& research and future plans in their respective

Greetings & Invitation to the Fourth Conference: Prof. Chandrashekhara Rao

Vote of thanks: Dr. Imankalyan Lahiri